Advisory Board


Simon Wessely

Sir Simon Wessely is Professor of Psychological Medicine, King’s College London.  He is the President of Royal College of Psychiatrists and is also a Consultant Liaison Psychiatrist at King’s College and the Maudsley Hospitals. Simon has over 700 original publications, with an emphasis on the boundaries of medicine and psychiatry, unexplained symptoms and syndromes, population reactions to adversity, military health, epidemiology and others. He has co-authored books on chronic fatigue syndrome, randomised controlled trials and a history of military psychiatry.

Tamara Hervey

Tamara Hervey is Professor of EU Law at the University of Sheffield, where she teaches law students and medical students about the EU. She has worked on European Union health law and policy since the 1990s, advising a range of EU and national governmental, professional and civil society actors on various aspects of how EU law affects health systems, health professionals, patients, and public health.  She was elected a Fellow of the Academy of Social Sciences in 2012.

Robert Johnstone

Robert Johnstone is chair of Access Matters, a pan disability consultancy working on the premise that encouraging accessible environments and culture enhances the workplace for employees and improves service delivery to customers. He also represents National Voices’ on the International Alliance of Patient Organisations, is a Board member of the European Patients Forum, and is a former President of Arthritis and Rheumatism International. He has served with many charities representing disabled people and those with health challenges. He was a patient advocate for the Bone and Joint Decade and helped the NHS develop Shared Decision Making.


Glenis Willmott

Dame Glenis Willmott is MEP for the East Midlands and Labour’s Leader in Europe. Before election, Glenis worked as a medical scientist and a trade union officer. As a member of the European Parliament’s Environment, Public Health and Food Safety Committee, Glenis has worked on food labelling, the EU’s Health Programme and alcohol policy. She led the parliament’s work on Clinical Trials legislation, which was adopted in 2014 and introduced new rules requiring the publication of clinical trial results. She is now leading the parliament’s work on the Medical Devices Regulation.

Charles Tannock

Dr Charles Tannock is MEP (Conservative) for London. Before being elected to the European Parliament in 1999, Charles worked as a Consultant Psychiatrist in London and was a Senior Lecturer at University College Hospital. In the European Parliament, Charles is Foreign Affairs and Human Rights Spokesman for the UK Conservative delegation. He is involved politically in a number of cross party Parliamentary groups working to support sufferers from epilepsy, cervical cancer and mental illness. He is also a member of the European Cancer Patient Coalition and the EP Intergroup on Animal Welfare. He is fluent in Portuguese, Spanish, French and Italian.

John Bowis

John Bowis OBE is a former MEP and MP, serving as Minister for Health (1992-1996). He then worked as International Policy Adviser to the World Health Organisation on campaigns such as ‘Nations for Mental Health’. He is currently President of Health First Europe and Vice-President of the European Health Forum Gastein. John acts as an advisor for several organisations in the not-for-profit sector and the healthcare industry. He is also an Honorary Fellow of the Royal College of Psychiatrists and the Royal College of Physicians.

Kate Bushby

Kate Bushby is a Clinical Academic Professor with joint appointments with Newcastle University and the Newcastle Upon Tyne Hospitals. She is a leader of the team at the John Walton Muscular Dystrophy Muscular Dystrophy Research Centre and MRC Centre for Neuromuscular Diseases based at the Institute of Genetic Medicine. She led the EUCERD Joint Action on Rare Diseases and continues as policy co-ordinator on a new Rare Disease Joint Action 2015-2018. She is an NIHR Senior Investigator and recipient of the Eurordis Award for Research into Rare Diseases.

Harry Burns

Sir Harry Burns is Professor of Global Public Health at Strathclyde University. He was Chief Medical Officer for Scotland from 2005-2014. Harry graduated in medicine from Glasgow University. He completed a Master’s Degree in Public Health in 1990 and shortly afterwards was appointed Medical Director of The Royal Infirmary. From 1995-2005 he was Director of Public Health for Greater Glasgow Health Board. In 2014, he was also awarded a lifetime achievement award by the Scottish Government and the Scottish Parliament for Public Service.

Clare Gerada

Dr Clare Gerada MBE is a former Chair of the Council of the Royal College of General Practitioners. She works as a general practitioner in South London and has a special interest in mental health and substance misuse. She is Medical Director of the NHS Practitioner Health Programme and also a former Director of Primary Care for the National Clinical Governance Team.

Nigel Crisp

Nigel Crisp is an independent crossbench member of the House of Lords where he co-chairs the All Party Parliamentary Group on Global Health. He works and writes extensively on global health.
He was Chief Executive of the NHS in England and Permanent Secretary of the UK Department of Health between 2000 and 2006. Previously he was Chief Executive of the Oxford Radcliffe Hospital NHS Trust.

Ian Gilmore

Professor Sir Ian Gilmore is an honorary consultant physician at the Royal Liverpool University Hospital. He also holds an honorary chair at the University of Liverpool.  Ian is a past-president of the Royal College of Physicians (RCP) and the British Society of Gastroenterology.  He is chairman of Liverpool Health Partners, which was created to promote an Academic Health Science System in the city. He chairs the UK Alcohol Health Alliance, is President of Alcohol Concern and is a member of the Climate and Health Council. He is a deputy Lord-Lieutenant of Merseyside.

Anne Marie Rafferty

Anne Marie Rafferty CBE is the first Professor of Nursing Policy in the UK. She is former Dean of the Florence Nightingale Faculty of Nursing and Midwifery, King’s College London and was a member of the Prime Minister’s Commission on the Future of Nursing and Midwifery 2009-10. She won the Nursing Times Leadership Award in 2014 and Health Services Journal Top 100 Clinical Leaders Award in 2015. She leads the Lancet Commission on Nursing in the UK and holds fellowships from the RCN and American Academy of Nursing.

Andrew Haines

Sir Andy Haines is Professor of Public Health and Primary Care at the London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine (LSHTM).  He was previously Director/Dean of LSHTM from 2000-2010 and Professor of Primary Health Care at University College London between 1987-2000. He worked part-time as a general practitioner in North London for many years and has also worked for the Medical Research Council and the NHS Executive.

Richard Horton

Richard Horton is Editor-in-Chief of The Lancet. He was the first President of the World Association of Medical Editors and he is a Past-President of the US Council of Science Editors. He is an honorary professor at the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, University College London, and the University of Oslo. Richard has honorary doctorates in medicine from the University of Birmingham and the Universities of Umea and Gothenburg in Sweden. Richard received the Edinburgh medal in 2007 and the Dean’s medal from Johns Hopkins School of Public Health in 2009.